Here is the early warning sign: Dad’s pension application lists his Social Security income as the exact amount deposited into his checking account, but Medicare is withheld before that deposit arrives. VA asks for the household’s gross monthly income, counts Social Security benefits when calculating pension income, and may deduct qualifying unreimbursed medical expenses, including Medicare deductions.[1][2][3]
Those are separate entries. If the Medicare premium is withheld from Social Security, the working reconciliation is:
Gross Social Security benefit - Medicare and other withholdings = bank deposit.
This is a checking equation, not VA’s pension calculation. Its job is to make every number in the packet traceable. If the subtraction does not reach the deposit, stop and identify the missing withholding before filing.
Build the three-number record
Put the current Social Security benefit notice or benefit verification record beside the bank statement. Record the gross benefit, each withholding, and the net deposit on one sheet. Do this separately for Dad and for every household member whose income must be reported. VA says pension income can include Social Security, retirement and investment payments, as well as income received by dependents.[2]
Do not substitute the checking deposit for the gross benefit merely because the deposit is easier to prove. Also do not report the net deposit as income and then claim the withheld Medicare premium as an expense. That treatment subtracts the same withholding twice.
The clean presentation is usually one gross Social Security income entry and one separate medical-expense entry for the qualifying Medicare deduction. VA Form 21P-527EZ is the Veterans Pension application. VA Form 21P-8416 is the Medical Expense Report used for unreimbursed medical or dental expenses paid for a household member. The form instructions specifically identify monthly Medicare deductions as an expense that may be reported.[1][3][4]
Recognize the mismatch before submission
Run this check before anyone signs the packet:
• Does the income entry equal the gross benefit or merely the bank deposit?
• Does the benefit record show a Medicare withholding that is absent from the medical-expense entries?
• Was a monthly figure placed in an annual field, or an annual figure placed in a monthly field?
• Does Dad’s spouse receive a separate benefit that is missing from the household worksheet?
• Is a supplemental insurance premium being confused with the Medicare deduction?
• Does the stated premium match the supporting record used for the same reporting period?
• Can each number be followed from source document to application without explanation from memory?
VA bases a pension payment on the difference between the applicable Maximum Annual Pension Rate and income for VA purposes. Certain unreimbursed medical expenses may reduce that income, but only the portion permitted under VA’s pension rules affects the calculation.[2] This is why a small-looking mismatch matters. It can affect both the income side and the expense side of the file.
Use the right form for the stage of the claim
If Dad is filing his first Veterans Pension claim, start with VA Form 21P-527EZ and include the requested household income and medical-expense information. If more expense space is needed, or medical expenses must be reported separately, use VA Form 21P-8416. The expense report asks who incurred the expense, when it was paid, its frequency, the amount, the payee, and its purpose.[1][3][4]
Report only expenses Dad or the household actually paid, were not reimbursed for, and do not expect to be reimbursed for. VA Form 21P-8416 distinguishes recurring expenses from nonrecurring expenses and instructs the claimant to state when a recurring expense began and whether the amount is monthly or annual.[3][4]
If a premium changes, do not silently keep the old figure because it appeared in the original application. Reconcile the new gross benefit, new withholding, and new deposit. VA provides VA Form 21P-0969 for reporting or updating income or net worth, while VA Form 21P-8416 is the form for medical expenses.[1][5] Ask the representative handling the file which form and reporting period fit the change.
Care can start while the claim is pending, but do not treat pension as invoice reimbursement
Dad can begin privately paid in-home care while VA is deciding the claim. Keep the contract, invoices, proof of payment, service dates, and any required care worksheet. VA pension is not a promise to repay each care bill. The benefit amount depends on the applicable pension limit, household income, qualifying expenses, dependents, and whether VA grants the higher Aid and Attendance level.[2][6]
VA does not publish one guaranteed decision time for every pension claim. It says processing time depends on the claim and that claims generally move in the order received unless priority processing applies.[6] Build the private-pay plan without assuming an approval date or a particular award amount.
Give a free filer a reconciliation, not a bag of statements
An accredited Veterans Service Organization representative can help gather evidence, file the claim, and communicate with VA. VA states that an accredited VSO representative’s benefit-claim services are always free. Appointment normally uses VA Form 21-22, signed by the claimant and representative.[7]
Use the St. Louis office list to contact local filing help. Ask the person who will review the packet these questions:
• Which document are you using for Dad’s gross Social Security benefit?
• Where is each Medicare or insurance withholding reported?
• Have you reconciled the listed income to the actual bank deposit?
• Are all figures consistently monthly or annual?
• Did you include the spouse’s income and expenses where required?
• What proof are you submitting for each recurring premium?
• Who will check the eventual decision against these figures?
If someone charges merely to prepare an initial pension application, verify that person’s VA accreditation and ask for the fee basis in writing. VA provides an accreditation search and distinguishes free accredited VSO representation from attorneys or claims agents who may charge in permitted circumstances.[7]
Check the decision using the same worksheet
When the VA decision arrives, do not review only the monthly payment. Compare the income and medical expenses VA used with the reconciliation sheet. Confirm that the gross Social Security benefit, spouse’s income, Medicare deduction, other recurring premiums, and care expenses appear in the correct periods.
If a number is missing or wrong, preserve the decision letter and take it promptly to the accredited representative. The letter explains the decision-review options and the applicable response deadline. VA’s claim-status tools can also show pension and Aid and Attendance claims and allow supporting evidence to be submitted for an active claim.[8]
The practical rule is simple: never let one Social Security benefit enter the file as an unexplained bank deposit. Show the gross benefit, show each withholding, show the resulting deposit, and place every qualifying expense in its own lane. That gives Dad, the free filer, and VA the same arithmetic to review.
Sources
- VA.gov, “VA Form 21P-527EZ,” /forms/21p-527ez/.
- VA.gov, “Current Veterans Pension Rates,” /pension/veterans-pension-rates/.
- VA.gov, “VA Form 21P-8416,” /forms/21p-8416/.
- VA.gov, “Submit Medical Expenses to Support a Pension or Parents’ DIC Claim,” /supporting-forms-for-claims/submit-medical-expense-report-form-21p-8416/.
- VA.gov, “Supporting Forms for VA Claims,” /supporting-forms-for-claims/.
- VA.gov, “How to Apply for a VA Pension as a Veteran,” /pension/how-to-apply/.
- VA.gov, “Get Help From a VA Accredited Representative or VSO,” /get-help-from-accredited-representative/.
- VA.gov, “Claim Status Tool FAQs,” /resources/claim-status-tool-faqs/.
Aid and Attendance STL is not affiliated with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Read About this desk for the site’s role and limits.